burners

Lorry CB radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

landyloon
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 12:02 am

Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:29 pm

do most lorry drivers fit them so the get more range and if so what kind of size do they use and what kind of range do the get?

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:38 am

no just fit the best antenna they can cause its no good getting out 50 miles and only receiving 15



:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :|
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
wildfire
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:08 pm
CB Handle: wildfire.
Location: United Kindom.

Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:45 pm

hi landyloon if you use a good antenna like a orbitor has it is the one i am useing on my scania 113 on a mirrior mount, or gutter mounts only thing you need to make shure is to ckeck if the swr is below 1.5 they work realy good with getting out also recieving orbitor antennas also dont get damaged easy by trees or bridges but burners are not essentiall

User avatar
ForzaCFC
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:11 pm

Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:30 pm

quote="landyloon"]do most lorry drivers fit them so the get more range and if so what kind of size do they use and what kind of range do the get?[/quote]


Pays your money and take your choice, in my case yes to burners.

I run KL203 around 70w output in my DAF105 coupled with Midland48 plus, my range is around the 5 mile mark, which for me is handy as most of my time as Im talking to Southampton Breakers who are mostly Homebase setups or my fellow drivers on the Docks.

The lack of distance I get even running burners is down to the Rocket Scientists at DAF, who in their wisdom shorted out the cab making it virtually impossible to run any aerial other than stock model supplied on the truck which is 2 foot nothing and on the back of the cab as well - #-o IDIOTS.

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:30 am

5 miles with a burner you need to talk to a good cb fitter if i cant get 5 miles with the daf antenna mounted properly the something is seriously wrong

call in at a good cb shop and get it sorted

:D :D :D :D *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:22 pm

yep should be blowing smoke !!!!!!!!!!!! :D

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:57 pm

i wouldnt bother with them push in out to 30 miles and only recieven 15 not worht it lyk by a good areil :D
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:23 am

you can also fit a red devil to the rear of the daf cab easily

:D :D :D :D *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
FISH
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1589
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:18 pm
Location: CLEVELAND,ENGLAND

Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:27 pm

I myself would use a better antenna before useing a amp.
26 TANGO MIKE 501

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:07 pm

unless the have a amp no 1 will talk
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
FISH
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1589
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:18 pm
Location: CLEVELAND,ENGLAND

Tue Mar 17, 2009 8:09 am

Why.
26 TANGO MIKE 501

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:04 pm

help what are you saying killer cam


:D :D :D :D *King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
FISH
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1589
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:18 pm
Location: CLEVELAND,ENGLAND

Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:19 pm

lol.
26 TANGO MIKE 501

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:20 pm

well if i had an amp then people can hear me but when they repli if they ant got one then i no hear them :( :(
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:58 pm

i think you need a pre amp and burner all in one

Post Reply