wiring problem?

Lorry CB radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
piper23
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:26 pm

Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:43 pm

Can anyone help please? Cb is connected and works. Had to use a dropper to take it down to 12v and connected to a wire from the roof of the lorry but whenever the sidelights are switched on the power to the dropper is cancelled. Suggest where to look first? Even the fitter in the yard is stumped. Thanks

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6060
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:01 am

whats the waggon it might give us a clue


:D :D :D :D *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

piper23
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:26 pm

Fri Nov 21, 2008 2:55 pm

It's a Mercedes Artos. It's a council lorry for winter gritting. Has a computer on board but it's only the sidelights going on that causes the problem. The computer is switched off when the lorry is used at other times. Cheers

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6060
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:47 pm

take the power from the rear of the 12 volt socket on the panel in the center the white one and you will have no problem



:D :D :D :D *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

piper23
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:26 pm

Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:05 pm

Got it. Know where you're at. On standby for bad weather this weekend though so it'll have to wait till next week. Thanks for your help and I'll let you know how I got on.

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6060
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:36 am

and another one bites the dust

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

piper23
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:26 pm

Sat Nov 22, 2008 11:59 am

Sorted. Apparently it needed a live earth from the dropper. Cheers

Post Reply