No ground plane antenna

General Mobile CB antenna advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
Harvey6480
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:10 pm

Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:13 pm

Hi, I've just bought a no ground plane antenna.
Normally when I crimp a TNC connector on I put a multi meter between the pin and the outer to check for a short. On continuity it's normally an open circuit so all is fine. However on this new antenna siro it's a closed circuit? Is that correct???

User avatar
andy@thunderpole.co.uk
Site Admin
Posts: 1031
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Mon Jul 20, 2015 9:20 am

Hi, Yes this is the correct reading.

To give the antenna a ground plane there is a built-in coil, and this is what you are measuring.

Andy :wink:

Post Reply