Maycom EM 27 @ Home

General CB Radio Advice and Troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
stu
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:04 pm

Hi There.

I am going to purchase the Maycom EM 27 CB.
My idea is to use the EM27 at home, obviously they use car cigorette lighter power adapters.
What can I do to get power to the CB from my wall socket?

Please note, I am a learner to this.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

Stuart

Paul (2H3CK)
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 11:38 am
Location: London

Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:37 pm

Hi Stu,

You'll need to pick up a power supply which i'm sure you can get from this site. The power supply converts the 230V mains AC voltage and transforms it down to 13.8V DC. For just a rig such as the Maycom a 3 Amp supply should suffice.

Hope this helps!

All the best....P
All the best.....73....P

stu
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:42 pm

Thanks for the speedy reply.

Cheers.

User avatar
andy@thunderpole.co.uk
Site Admin
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:48 pm

Hi Stu,

The power supplies are on this page...

http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/power_supp ... andard.htm

The 2-3amp should suffice.

Regards,

Andy :wink:

stu
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:29 pm

Thanks Guys.

Just out of curiosity, if i wanted to buy a better rated PS,
Is it possible for me to go the extra and buy the Palstar PS-06?
Would it do any harm, E.g - supply too much power and blow the CB?


Regards,

Stuart

User avatar
andy@thunderpole.co.uk
Site Admin
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:39 pm

Hi,

No it should be fine. As long as the voltage is 13.8 Volts it will work.

There is just more current available for any connected equipment to use.

I hope this makes sense?!

Andy :wink:

stu
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 4:53 pm

Yes, I understand that loud n clear m8.
Thanks.

What I'll do is get the M-490 Intek CB and the PS-06 Palstar.

The only one other thing I had in question was .....

Sorry to be a pain...

The Distance/Range I could get with the DISCOVERY III 1.75m Aerial?


Thanks.

Stuart

User avatar
andy@thunderpole.co.uk
Site Admin
Posts: 1030
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:53 pm
Location: Northampton
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:10 pm

That is quite a difficult question because the answer depends on many things, local terrain, conditions and what vehicle it is mounted on.

As a rough guide though I would say up to 10 miles should be attainable in good conditions.

Andy :wink:

stu
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Hamilton, Scotland
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:47 pm

Hi Andy.

Yea, I know what you mean.
I have read on the other threads, a couple of guys were using A99 type of aeriel, they were saying the were gettin a really good signal.

I was gonna invest in one of those.
I know this will be a silly question, but,
Is it possible to get an aeriel that will transmit around the world


Regards,

Stuart

tomcruzz
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:40 am

Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:02 am


Post Reply