MidLand 78 and skyscan mobile antenna

Place to come if youre having technical issues, including mic wiring
lillew
New to the Scene
New to the Scene

Hi All

Im pretty new to the world of cb radios

i currently have my midland 78 setup in my car and i have just got hold of a (other company) skyscan mobile antenna and i am having problems hearing or being heard on the waves

cb is mounted at the front of my car and the antenna is mounted at the back on the roof (mag mount) with the cable taking the longest possible route

it is swr in at a range of 1.2 - 1.5 on ch 1-19-40 fm uk

if i key up it shows all the bars on the scale if i leave it on scan and drive around i cant seem to hear alot of chatter but when i do hear someone i ask if they can here me but i dont seem to get a reply my earth and live it run directly off my battery and i an replace the wiring for new stuff with an inlline fuse.
i also have a burner but i cant remember what watt this is but i have tried with this connected and disconnected.

i am pretty stumbed as it worked before on my old whip antenna which got stolen

Please can anyone advise
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -

as far as i know the skyscan antenna is a scanner antenna and not designed for cb radio and not to tx through ytr with a proper cb antenna designed for the job

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it
lillew
New to the Scene
New to the Scene

stampman wrote:as far as i know the skyscan antenna is a scanner antenna and not designed for cb radio and not to tx through ytr with a proper cb antenna designed for the job

cheers king

well according to the staff at maplins it would work the freq range on the box says 25mhz - 2000mhz RX my understanding is thhat cb rx freq are aroun 16mhz to 28mhz so i should aleast be able to hear people or am i wrong thinking this im gonna give it another go at swr it in and adjust antenna heights and fingers crossed
Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!