Icom IC-R5

Scanners and receivers, inlcuding Airband - advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
joe jeep
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:22 pm
CB Handle: Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex

Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:38 pm

I am hoping to win an Icom IC-R5, they seem good, their icom and they have a freq. range of 0.5 - 1300 mHz.

I want it to listen to civil and military aircraft and VHF ship and coastguard frequencies, so I think this should cover it.

Would, using an adapter, be able to plug it into a 9' cb aerial tank whip?????

Cheers
Joseph
Handle:Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex.
On either UK19 or if you cant find me there try UK26.

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:52 am

Tank whip is no good ,You need a dedicated multy band scanner Discone antenna . http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/homebasesc ... tennas.htm best mounted up high on your television antenna poll .
The V1300 covers 0 to 1300 mhz - http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/thunderpole-v1300.html

Thunderpoll Euro Stick is the cheapest - http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/euro_stick.htm

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:27 am

yes you could plug into a tank whip but it depends how close you are to an airport for best results if you want better coverage then antenna as high as you can is far better but you will have to try it first on the whip

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

joe jeep
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:22 pm
CB Handle: Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex

Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:00 pm

I decided against the IC-R5 and I want to get it's predeccesor the IC-R2, It basically does the same job but a different button arangements and a few small gaps in inconspicous places of only 0.005mHz. So for a cheaper price for basically the same thing. I was thinking of getting the the Thunderpole Desktop, to stick on the garage door the same as my tank whip but at different times, oh and by the way my tank whip is performing pretty good for my location I got out 20 miles and was getting 9 on my signal meter when RX. The only question I have about the desktop is do the radials and discone aerials fold or detatch?? Might message Andy, He'll know.!

Cheers
Joseph
Handle:Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex.
On either UK19 or if you cant find me there try UK26.

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6057
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:42 am

if you order it you will definately get it they are experts in dispatch and packaging no problem order today get tomorrow


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

Post Reply