Newbie, advice needed!!

Scanners and receivers, inlcuding Airband - advice and troubleshooting

Moderators: FISH, stampman

New to the Scene
New to the Scene

Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:19 pm

Hello all!

Thank you for accepting my request to join the forums, appreciated.

I have a few questions and hope to get some advice from other members.

A little background....

I am currently an IHCD Ambulance Technician working for several private ambulance services and I am also a trainer and assessor for some voluntary and private services.

I also am involved quite a bit in event medical work (concerts and other large scale events here in Northern Ireland and other parts of the UK).

As you can imagine at such events I may be working directly for a private ambulance service or contracted on a freelance basis.

At these events I am usually either part of an ambulance crew or involved within a designated medical response team.

At these large events in particular I usually work with other service providers both private event medical services and (VAS) voluntary services such as St John Ambulance, British Red Cross, Order of Malta etc, all of of whom I enjoy a professional working relationship with.

As I provide medical services at numerous events 9usually working with the same services as named above) it can be quite an issue when it comes to radio communications.

Yes, most large scale events will have a command & control centre onsite, however increasingly I am finding myself at events working with several other services with different communication set ups with no commmand & control.

As an example I may be providing cover at an event working alongside private medical teams with their own radio frequencies, British Red Cross with UHF frequencies and the likes of St John Ambulance who may be using VHF frequencies so it can be an issue carrying several handsets provided to me by these services.