Is my Power unit ok for the radio

General amateur radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
Donga
Official CB Nut
Official CB Nut
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:48 am
CB Handle: Rockape
Location: Merseyside

Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:49 pm

Hi all, i have bought recently second hand a Sharman multicom 3 amp power supply. My problem is when i key the mic my KPO DX 5000 gives a high pitch beep and on screen flashed DC Lo. I take it the power supply is not enough to run that radio.

Can anyone advise me what i need pls. Cheers

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Wed Mar 21, 2012 10:47 pm

It may just cope if you turn the radios wats down to about 2 wats but you will need a minimum 10 amp power supply for these radios as they pull around 8 amps at 20 w output .

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6034
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:16 am

yes definitely too small power supply like tryng to ru a maclaran sports car with a lawnmower engine :-)

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

stewartyboy01824
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:02 pm

Sat Apr 07, 2012 6:57 pm

Hi there, I have just had a similar problem, have just been given a Galaxy DX 95 T2 10 metre radio and it did the same thing when trying to speak, the lights dimmed and just transmitted a deep whellow with no voice. After scratching my head for a while thinking there was something wrong with the radio, i turned the power down and low and behold when transmitting it lit up like a xmas tree and my voice appeard on a nearby cb i was using for testing.

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:54 pm

10 to 15 amp is needed *King*

Post Reply