tone boards

General amateur radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
User avatar
Asterix
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Sanderstead, Surrey

Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:03 pm

Hi all ,
I am looking to getting into ham radio , and have been given a couple of radios to try, I have been told one of them needs a "tone board " replaced. can anyone tell me what it does and if I really need one .?

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6054
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:44 pm

a tone board generates a ctss tone to open a repeater not neede if just useing simplex



*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
Asterix
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Sanderstead, Surrey

Mon Nov 02, 2015 4:50 pm

Ok thanks for the info stampman, is it something I could replace myself if I had the board or would it need to be a bit more of an indepth repair ?

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6054
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:34 am

never actualy done one i think i would farm it out to a reputable repair guy who does ham radio repairs for a liveing not Joe bloggs who can do it cheap at the end of the road


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
Asterix
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Sanderstead, Surrey

Fri Nov 06, 2015 4:58 pm

Ok, thanks stampman.

Post Reply