SIRIO ML145 On A MF 6475 DYNA-6

Agricultural vehicle CB Radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
Round Baler
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:36 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland, UK
Contact:

Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:03 pm

I got some pics today(Friday 22nd June) of my local contractor (Jake Bryson) who owns Bryson contracts.

Jake runs NH tractors but this is a guy who runs with him. He was pumping dirty water out of settling ponds at my work.

He has 2 SIRIO ML145 antennas on his wing mirrors. He has cut some steel the same diameter as his magmounts and made brackeks that screws into the original holes on the wing mirrirs and welded the circular discs of steel to the brackets.

He was using a Midland 38 and a K-PO DMC110 mic.

He was getting 20 miles+ without a burner.

Anyone got new pics of their mounts on their machinery?

The guy in the NH broke his back window whilst packing the reels up. He hit the back window with by booms.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

- Gordon
Round Baler

"We Cut The Crops That Feed The World"

Image

extremedave
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:37 pm

Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:02 pm

thanks for the pictures man,we have a trailed reel just like that for the umbilical job although ours is looking a bit worse for wear now

do u know if he has both aerials wired up or is one just for show?

Round Baler
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:36 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland, UK
Contact:

Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:32 pm

I could only see 1 cable going in but I'm only guessing he will have a switcher somewhere.

- Gordon
Last edited by Round Baler on Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Round Baler

"We Cut The Crops That Feed The World"

Image

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:33 am

not far enough apart for twins so i would think 1 for radio/tv other for cb


:D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

Round Baler
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:36 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland, UK
Contact:

Sun Jun 24, 2007 7:51 pm

You don't need them far apart to pick up a different signal.

He might have mounted/earthed 1 of them different.

He didn't have a T.V. fitted.

- Gordon
Round Baler

"We Cut The Crops That Feed The World"

Image

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:27 am

to work as twins on cb freq they have to be 1/4 wavelength apart or you get lobes all over the place caused by inter action of the aentenna



:D :D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

Round Baler
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:36 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland, UK
Contact:

Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:30 pm

So how far would 1/4 of the wavelength be?

- Gordon
Round Baler

"We Cut The Crops That Feed The World"

Image

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:32 pm

just over 8 ft


:D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

Round Baler
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:36 am
Location: Airdrie, Scotland, UK
Contact:

Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:15 pm

So you would need 8ft of a width before the tiwns would work effectively?

Why do lorries have 2 or 3 on the roof?

- Gordon
Round Baler

"We Cut The Crops That Feed The World"

Image

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:01 am

caues they look good yes they have to be about 8ft 6inc apart for best results
but remember the focus your signal where your headligts are pointing so if your on a long distance copy and you turn a corner bet is you will lose the copy


:D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

Post Reply