Where to put the antenna

Motorhome/Caravan CB Radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderators: FISH, stampman

Post Reply
Gonewiththewind
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:01 pm
CB Handle: Gone with the wind
Location: Bolton

Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:24 pm

I have an "Orbiter" antenna. Its goimg on the side of Motorhome high up. The issue is , front or back? :mrgreen:
On the road again.
Gone with the wind.

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6009
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:09 am

dont use orbiter on side of motor home as the pick up a lot of reflection and will mnot come don on swr mount on roof if you can or as far out on the mirror arm to give your self a chance even use a center loaded or top loaded if you can only mount on the side of the vechial


:D :D :D :D *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:08 am

go for the front but you will probarly get tons of reflection but give it a try and if no good go for the mirror mount :D
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

Gonewiththewind
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:01 pm
CB Handle: Gone with the wind
Location: Bolton

Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:25 am

Thanks for advice. Mirror is a problem as I see it as it is all plastic so will need additional earthing. initialy was going to mount on wing, but everything is double lined. Dont want to get into stripping before fitting.
More delays!!
Don
On the road again.
Gone with the wind.

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:16 pm

as i said wack it on the side if no good fiber glass the hole and you will have to find some where els
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6009
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:14 pm

dont put on side use mirror mount ith earth lead easisist way and will not make a mess of side of van once yove drilled it you cant get it back to original if your near the sponseres let andy have a look


:D :D :D *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:30 pm

how did it go then
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: wolverhampton. uk

Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:16 am

killer cam wrote:how did it go then
well i dont think it did lol *King*

MotorhomeMatt
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:14 pm
CB Handle: Turtle
Location: Nairnshire, Scotland.

Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:45 pm

Hi Gonewiththewind,

Fitting an antenna is a bit of a nightmare to fit to a motorhome. I ended up getting a sheet of 16SWG steel, 2' x 4' , and welded a Sirio mount to the centre. I then gave it three coats of white hammerite over 2 weeks.

I bonded it to the roof of the motorhome (a 1999 Laika Ecovip 400i A class) with Sikaflex 221, and taped the edges with aluminium 'speed tape'. I earthed the steel groundplane to the motorhome chassis, and range is superb. I tried using a Firestik, then moved up to a Thunderpole superflexi, fitted on a spring.

Hope this helps. Just route the cables through a rooflight with enough loose cable so the vent can close down fully and make a seal.

It was a lot of effort, but worth it. There are pictures in the 'Gallery' Section, under "My set up, my pride and joy"

Incidently, in case you are wondering, I've had to change my name from 'Matt C' to 'MotorhomeMatt', because I changed my computer and a glitch wouldn't let me back in!!
Home is where you park it!!

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:31 am

lol i was going to say theres a man who had the same problem you should chack back in the forum some whear
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: wolverhampton. uk

Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:45 pm

*King*

Locoman
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:15 pm
CB Handle: Locoman
Location: Mid -Devon

Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:44 pm

Hi
I have similar problems with my Motorhome CB and SWR as I mounted the antenna on the Drivers side wing, but it is impossible to get a low SWR even with an Earth wire.
So now having a re think ??
Will have to put a grommit in the hole, sprayed White, Grrr !!

I am now thinking of clamping an alloy pole to the rear Bike Rack, with a mount attached at roof level, and with an artificial ground plain mount, then running the cable forward under the van to the Rig in the cab. And an Earth wire from the mount and attached to a suitable Earthing point
All this can be removed if needed, as I'm not going to drill any more holes in the van.

Any ideas or comments appreciated. :|

Locoman
The Problem is Not "Leaves on the Line", its the " Passengers"

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6009
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Wed Jan 06, 2016 3:37 pm

you dont want the artificial ground as the seem to perform very poorly use a pole and add an 8ft 6" piece of ground wire to it do not earth to the vehicle chassis and try it out


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

Locoman
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:15 pm
CB Handle: Locoman
Location: Mid -Devon

Wed Jan 06, 2016 4:09 pm

Thanks
I will try with out the groundplane and just add a good Earth wire as suggested, when its done I will post the results [-o<
The Problem is Not "Leaves on the Line", its the " Passengers"

Post Reply