Starter

CB homebase advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
DIGGER
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:12 pm

Hi all. I am looking at upgrading from a hand held to a base unit for use at home. I am completely new to this. My handheld receives well but just doesn't have the Ooomph on the TX.

I have invested in a Thunderpole complete kit. Should get me up and running easily.

Any more advice welcome. :D
http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/cb_radio_pack-homebase.htm

Whats the Maxium lengh of COAX I can use to connect my Arial to my Rig? I have an ideal location down my garden, but think I may need at leat 30M of Coax to make it to my room?

Cheers in advance.
A completely Clueless
Dave

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:19 pm

\

for a 30 meter run of coax use low-loss cable and a home base antenn will definately work better then a small one on the set


:D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

DIGGER
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:14 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:56 pm

My rig arrived had it all set up in the Garage and the antena in position and set the SWR. :D

Wasn't anyone on air when I was tinkering but checked it out with my Alan42 hand held to ensure it worked ok.

I'm now back at base so radio less :(

Post Reply