help

CB homebase advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:41 pm

checked swr readings channel 1 1.2 channel 20 1.4 channel 40 2.1 aerial is in loft but cant speak or hear anyone :mrgreen:

clockworkorange
Official CB Nut
Official CB Nut
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:09 pm

Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:57 pm

to start with to lower that swr you need to shorten the whip, you wont do more than about 10 miles with that loft antenna anyway :mrgreen:

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:32 am

make sure you are on uk frequancys and you get a squelch noise from the set they will recieve on a piece of wire with no swr



*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:25 pm

[quote="stampman"]make sure you are on uk frequancys and you get a squelch noise from the set they will recieve on a piece of wire with no swr


silly question but how you know your on uk frequancys rig i got is a danita 3000

User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Sun Jul 11, 2010 1:39 pm

padster wrote:
stampman wrote:make sure you are on uk frequancys and you get a squelch noise from the set they will recieve on a piece of wire with no swr


silly question but how you know your on uk frequancys rig i got is a danita 3000
*King* *King* *King* *King*
set rig to uk freqencey but got nothing #-o

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:08 am

nothing as in no sound

or nothing as in squelch noise but no voices

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:54 pm

stampman wrote:nothing as in no sound

or nothing as in squelch noise but no voices

*King* *King* *King* *King*
got it working but cant get out far does cb or aerial have to be earthed

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:24 am

could just be position of antenna and you are in a dip

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:46 pm

hi padster,

looking at your post seems your in a little bother at the moment is a out side antenna not a possibility ? iv got a sliver rod that's welcome to a new home cant remember what condition its in tho !
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:41 pm

killer cam wrote:hi padster,

looking at your post seems your in a little bother at the moment is a out side antenna not a possibility ? iv got a sliver rod that's welcome to a new home cant remember what condition its in tho !
thanks very much for the offer cam but i moved and this place is rented and its a no go thanks for offer though

User avatar
killer cam
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 1593
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:53 pm
CB Handle: killer cam
Location: Shrewsbury

Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:05 pm

hi mate,

no worrys :D
M6TBR

I want to tell you my setup but you might rob me

clockworkorange
Official CB Nut
Official CB Nut
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:09 pm

Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:32 pm

what antenna you running? :?: your best bet would be either a 102"whip and a ground plane kit or a dv27 on a old metal irononing board both work VERY well

User avatar
padster
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 7:16 pm
CB Handle: night owl
Location: northeast england

Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:42 pm

clockworkorange wrote:what antenna you running? :?: your best bet would be either a 102"whip and a ground plane kit or a dv27 on a old metal irononing board both work VERY well
dv27 mate

Post Reply