are burners anygood.

CB homebase advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
stardj
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:37 pm

Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:09 pm

Hiya

Was thinking of getting a 25 w burner for my new set up. Are they anygood?> and do they really boost tx and rx without doing damage to radios?

are they still illegal?

Much love :wink:

colsa
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:35 pm

Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:16 pm

Yeah, might get myself a 100w burner and a 15amp psu, most people in my area have got these, simply because they are sick of the tossers playing music on the rig at 2 in the morning. Doesnt matter how much you ignore the muppets, they still follow you through-out the 80 channels.

Would only use the burner at unsociable times, just incase it interfeared with peoples television reception.

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:02 am

you have to get one with a pre-amp built in on they will not amplifie incoming signals


:D :D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
EarthWormJim
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Sutton Bridge, Lincolnshire

Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:40 pm

Why waste money on a 25 watt get yourself a 100 watt mate I had a 25 watt burner and it didnt really make a differense imho 8)
Jim,

CB'ers do it till it Hertz...Side Banders do it till it MegaHertz

2H4OW
M3OJP

fatfinger
Official CB Legend!!!
Official CB Legend!!!
Posts: 1164
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:47 pm
Contact:

Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:23 pm

buy a 100 watt + or there is not much point
and remember you will need a bigger power supply with more amps
when all tv goes digital they should not mess up tv signals
untill then i would keep a low profile with it as there not legal

User avatar
boyscout
Official CB Nut
Official CB Nut
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Peterborough
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:26 am

fatfinger wrote:buy a 100 watt + or there is not much point
and remember you will need a bigger power supply with more amps
when all tv goes digital they should not mess up tv signals
untill then i would keep a low profile with it as there not legal
Tell me if I'm wrong but don't the signals still come in from the TV antenna on digital??? This would then lead me to believe that the signals still use an RF band. So I would think that you still could cause TVI with a burner or poor setup even if the signal is digital?

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:37 am

the tv will still pick up rf due to its design


:D :D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

fatfinger
Official CB Legend!!!
Official CB Legend!!!
Posts: 1164
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:47 pm
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:05 pm

just what i was told sorry
:oops:

User avatar
boyscout
Official CB Nut
Official CB Nut
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Peterborough
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:13 pm

:D NO don't worry mate....just thought I was missing something. I have a burner so just get one and fill your boots, bardon the pun. :lol:

User avatar
VideoPirate
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:40 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:56 pm

Where's the best place to buy a decent burner with a built-in pre amp?

VP

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6036
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:43 am

thunderpole will sort you out no problem

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

Post Reply