How to get SWR down?

4x4 CB radio advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:16 am

Hi, I have an issue with high SWR.

I am mounting an Orbitor Antenna with a gutter mount to my Discovery's gutter at the back.
Antenna used here: http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/large-cb-a ... bitor.html

The SWR is in the red on all channels I have tried to earth it but it stays the same?

How can I get it down please?

Many thanks :)

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:55 pm

Post a picture of your mount .

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Thu Jan 02, 2014 5:01 pm

Dragonfly wrote:Post a picture of your mount .

This one :)

http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/gutter-mou ... t-kit.html

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:23 pm

Dooooh , Guess I asked for that .

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:25 pm

Dragonfly wrote:Dooooh , Guess I asked for that .
What ya mean? Lol


I was gona take a photo of my actual one but it's dark haha

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6046
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:13 am

there should be a very slight difference between the readings and make sure the orbiter is clear of all body parts so you dont get reflection because this will put it in the red if you do some searching on here there are loads of threads dealing with swr.


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:51 am

stampman wrote:there should be a very slight difference between the readings and make sure the orbiter is clear of all body parts so you dont get reflection because this will put it in the red if you do some searching on here there are loads of threads dealing with swr.


*King* *King* *King* *King*
Hey, yeah I have tried to do things that have been mentioned in those, with no luck?
One Life, Live It!

Buzzin' Around Channel 25

M6XSZ - 2M ;)

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:59 am

Image
Image
One Life, Live It!

Buzzin' Around Channel 25

M6XSZ - 2M ;)

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:42 am

Have you got a multy meter/ OHM meter to check if it is shorted between antenna stud and mount (Disconect coax from the CB when doing this test ) , It may be ok but most of them snail mounts used to be fitted on top of the mount not the bottom as the rubber cover can fill with water .The center core of the coax must only travel up the antenna and the outer shield must only earth to the mount and vehicle body , Never the two should meet .
A quick release would raise the coil a little higher . http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/mounting-a ... nnect.html

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:10 pm

Dragonfly wrote:Have you got a multy meter/ OHM meter to check if it is shorted between antenna stud and mount (Disconect coax from the CB when doing this test ) , It may be ok but most of them snail mounts used to be fitted on top of the mount not the bottom as the rubber cover can fill with water .The center core of the coax must only travel up the antenna and the outer shield must only earth to the mount and vehicle body , Never the two should meet .
A quick release would raise the coil a little higher . http://www.thunderpole.co.uk/mounting-a ... nnect.html
I have a meter yeah...

So do you think the position on the mount and Antenna is okey?

And I think those quick release things make the Antenna easier to steal?
One Life, Live It!

Buzzin' Around Channel 25

M6XSZ - 2M ;)

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:26 pm

Yep the mounting looks spot on and if the studs are bit into the metal and giving a good earth and and the center core is insulated properly from the mount then it should have a good SWR reading .I have seen springer antennas go high resistance due to rusting inside the brass parts but that antenna looks quite new .

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Fri Jan 03, 2014 10:38 pm

Dragonfly wrote:Yep the mounting looks spot on and if the studs are bit into the metal and giving a good earth and and the center core is insulated properly from the mount then it should have a good SWR reading .I have seen springer antennas go high resistance due to rusting inside the brass parts but that antenna looks quite new .
Yeah it's all brand new lol, like 4 days old....
One Life, Live It!

Buzzin' Around Channel 25

M6XSZ - 2M ;)

SAM WD40
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:04 pm
CB Handle: SAM
Location: Kettering

Sun Jan 26, 2014 8:36 pm

Did one of the for a friend the other week with a brand new TP orbiter and the whip was to short ! Frequency of the antenna was on 28.450 ok for 10mts but no good for good old 10-4 good buddy

Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:50 pm

What radio are you using for the SWR test , If it has EU band then check swr at channel 1 EU then SWR at 40 UK then tell us the readings .

User avatar
RustySkull
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:39 pm
CB Handle: Pirate/Ben
Location: Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex

Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:39 am

Dragonfly wrote:What radio are you using for the SWR test , If it has EU band then check swr at channel 1 EU then SWR at 40 UK then tell us the readings .
Both smack bang on 3.


I haven't bothered trying to fix this since I posted this haha! I just haven't used it lol
One Life, Live It!

Buzzin' Around Channel 25

M6XSZ - 2M ;)

Post Reply