Page 1 of 1

Discovery 2 Antenna Position

Posted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:39 pm
by mavrick69
Greetings All,

First time on here so go easy...lol

I have a D2 that im sorting out to go gout and about in. Im looking at getting the following as a set up.
Albrecht AE-6110 Multi - Nice and slim and should just about fit above the sun visor so out of sight.

I was going to marry that to a Orbitor HD with a HD mount.

The question is would it be better to mount it on the front of the roof rack behind the raised bar as below with a HD mount? Its going to take a pounding from low trees and the like so would rather try and get it right first time.
IMG_1019 3.jpg
IMG_1019 3.jpg (133.15 KiB) Viewed 719 times
or on the high rear quarter panel here ?
IMG_1020.jpg
IMG_1020.jpg (230.49 KiB) Viewed 719 times
Many thanks for your thoughts in advance
Mike

Re: Discovery 2 Antenna Position

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 10:03 am
by stampman
hi would mount on the roof rack ans remember that the orbiter does not work well up against metal as it would put the swr really high so keep it in the clear



*King* *King* *King* *King*

Re: Discovery 2 Antenna Position

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:47 am
by mavrick69
No Worries,

was going to mount it on a metal plate and fix it to the mesh about a foot back from the front

Cheers
Mike

Re: Discovery 2 Antenna Position

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:04 pm
by AppleTree
I also have a TD5, you want to mount the arial in the middle of the roof really, that way it will radiate equally in all directions. If you mount it to the front it will send signals backwards and so on...


Keep it away from any other metal as it will effect how it works. It looks like you have the prefect option there to stick it smack bang in the middle! I don't have anything on my roof so I used a Mag Mount. On my old Discovery 1 I used a gutter mount and out it on the rear right corner, which made it directional towards the front left. But, it worked.

Re: Discovery 2 Antenna Position

Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:05 pm
by AppleTree
Can you post a photo of how and where you put the radio please?
I'm thinking of relocating mine but I'm out of ideas lol.