Best homebase radio ?

CB homebase advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:35 am

10 amp power supply would be better then you are not working it to its capacity



:D :D :D :D :D :D
if it anit broke dont fix it

tobyw7
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:18 pm

Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:37 pm

Thanks for that. yeah wouldn't want to cause any damage.
>> 26-Tango Mike-129 : http://www.tangomike.net
>> 26-Foxtrot Bravo-132 : http://www.foxtrotbravo.co.uk

jason
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: peterborough uk

Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:23 pm

i like the look of the galaxy homebase,, i am after something along those lines but not sure where to find one, is there a company that sells refurbs that is a bit more trustworthy than buying from *******etc ??

i gotta get my hands on a decent homebase dx set

tobyw7
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:18 pm

Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:34 am

Not a great deal of homebase sets are sold in this country as opposed to America or mainland Europe. I would say ***** is your best bet overall.

You might want to keep your eye on this: [url]http://www*********/shop2/index1.html[/url]. *********** sell used rigs and other items.

.no links to other sites as it is against the rules

Cheers
>> 26-Tango Mike-129 : http://www.tangomike.net
>> 26-Foxtrot Bravo-132 : http://www.foxtrotbravo.co.uk

User avatar
chazwozza
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:33 pm

Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:39 pm

tobyw7 wrote:Isnt that a 10m set ? That you need a license for.. im a ham operator, but cant work 10m on a foundation license.. I was hoping just to DX using the UK/EU CB frequencies

Fink u find u can use 10m on a m3 m8 changed that a few months ago

tobyw7
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:18 pm

Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:54 pm

Ohh.. I am sorry in that case hehe.

Shows how much I've been keeping up with things : |

Which also means that if you can get onto 10M with an M3 you might as well stay on 11M and Freeband. (In my mind anyway.)

Cheers

User avatar
chazwozza
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:33 pm

Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:04 pm

aye but m3 gives u muppet 2m and 70cm as well as the gud hf stuff like 20 40 + also 6m
plus u can still 11m freeband

tobyw7
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:18 pm

Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:40 am

True.

You do get a wider range of HF bands/freqs to use as well, plus 11M but officially you're limited to a max of 10W, and if I remember before, and I'm sure they're still quite strict about it, they will take you're kit and other operators will report you if they know you're running more power than you should be.

Cheers
>> 26-Tango Mike-129 : http://www.tangomike.net
>> 26-Foxtrot Bravo-132 : http://www.foxtrotbravo.co.uk

Grant
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: North Nottinghamshire

Mon Mar 31, 2008 3:10 pm

Hi mate i've just got a brand new superstar 3900 for £133 delivered, I'm using a manson ep- 925 25 amp power supply with the amp and volt meters on and on fm it draws 4 and a half amps and ssb just over 6 hope that helps :D

fatfinger
Official CB Legend!!!
Official CB Legend!!!
Posts: 1164
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:47 pm
Contact:

Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:50 pm

superstar 3900 rock =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>

User avatar
wildfire
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:08 pm
CB Handle: wildfire.
Location: United Kindom.

Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:18 am

superstar radios are the buisness and do a great job :wink:

tobyw7
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:18 pm

Sun Jun 15, 2008 10:22 am

Grant wrote:Hi mate i've just got a brand new superstar 3900 for £133 delivered, I'm using a manson ep- 925 25 amp power supply with the amp and volt meters on and on fm it draws 4 and a half amps and ssb just over 6 hope that helps :D
Sorry, I've been off these forums for a while, but that information was very useful.

Cheers

- Toby .
>> 26-Tango Mike-129 : http://www.tangomike.net
>> 26-Foxtrot Bravo-132 : http://www.foxtrotbravo.co.uk

mathew
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:11 am

Tue Nov 17, 2009 4:47 am

How to Set Up a Home Base CB and Antenna?

Step 1

Buy an antenna that is simple to put up. The Ugly Stick is the best antenna and has a good range for distance. There are also (other company) three-element beams, Stardusters and other larger antennas. The Stick is common because you do not need much room to mount it outside.

Step 2

Mount the Ugly Stick on the 20-foot steel pole. Use U-bolts to attach the antenna to the steel pole. This steel pole can be mounted from a back porch or from a tripod on the roof. For easy installation, just mount the antenna off a back porch. Where the antenna is mounted will determine the length of the steel pole. Make sure to get above some of the housetops close by.

Step 3

Attach the ground wire to the mast on the antenna, run it down to the ground and attach the other side of the wire to a rod in the ground. This will be the grounding wire.
#
Step 4

Attach one side of the coax to the antenna, and run the remaining coax to the inside of the home. How you do this will depend on where you want to run it. Follow the same technique used to run cable or TV antenna wires into the house.

Step 5

Attach the coax to a standing wave meter and the coax coming from the standing wave meter to the CB. This allows you to check the standing wave before using the radio. Because you are using an Ugly Stick, the standing wave will be set already, but it is a good idea to check it. The standing wave should be in the white and not in the red.

Step 6

Disconnect the coax from the standing wave meter and attach it to the home base CB. The setup is complete and ready to talk.

Thanks..

User avatar
porky.69
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 2114
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:55 pm

do they still sell the ugly stick antennas ????

User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6059
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:50 am

well we have ugly suppliers so they mus do


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it

Post Reply