more antenna help please

General Mobile CB antenna advice and troubleshooting

Moderator: stampman

Post Reply
pyromad
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:57 pm
Location: hampshire/surey (right on the border)

Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:12 pm

Hi again,

I have just bought myself a mag mount for my car and i wana use a Dial-a-match base loaded antenna that i was given. but the instruction page i have sais this needs to be grounded? how would i go about doing this with the mag mount in the middle of my car roof?
snowman
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:47 pm
Location: barrow suffolk

Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:19 pm

http://www.cosjwt.com/index.php?a=3 (is it ok to put this on andy)
freebanders do it anywhere :)
pyromad
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:57 pm
Location: hampshire/surey (right on the border)

Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:32 pm

Thank you, that is a very intresting read and was very useful.
snowman
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 8:47 pm
Location: barrow suffolk

Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:42 pm

i have as many others used mag-mounts with great success ( gone on for years) and they are a handy no hole quick fit solution and put a antenna in the best spot in the middle of roof but....... you cant beat a drilled bolted mount for good clean earth and solid prob free mounting!!!!!! still i use a mag on the car and it works well.
freebanders do it anywhere :)
stoner_26
Good Buddy
Good Buddy
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:10 pm

Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:54 pm

i use a mag mount and even use the rubber protector aswell to protect my paint which give a thicker space betweem mount and metal and i have found it easy to set-up and no problems with ground plane and works fine for me :)
Dragonfly
Motor Mouth!
Motor Mouth!
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:11 pm

Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:47 pm

Magnetic mounts dont need to ground to the car.
The Dial a Match antenna is a great little antenna and is a doddle to tune as all you do is turn the metal ring up or down the threaded outer base load to tune it .
If the SWR stays way to high then coil inside may have gone short,I have had a couple of these Antennas and they usually only lasted a couple of years before developing a short .
pyromad
New to the Scene
New to the Scene
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:57 pm
Location: hampshire/surey (right on the border)

Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:35 am

Thanks for all the replys i will try and get my anteena set up and working in the morning. I do have another antenna that i was also given but have no instructions with this 1 so dont know the make.
User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6074
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:39 am

all antennas work and swr the same way by either shortening or lengthening the whip


*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it
joe jeep
Chatter Box
Chatter Box
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:22 pm
CB Handle: Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex

Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:04 pm

I use a 6" mag-mount with a rubber boot and a Voyager aerial, get almost perfect ground plane. One question I have is that would the mag mount work as a ground plane on its own, yes it wouldn't be great but would it act as sort of a ground plane.
Handle:Joe-Jeep
Location: Littlehampton, West Sussex.
On either UK19 or if you cant find me there try UK26.
User avatar
stampman
- - -> CB God <- - -
- - -> CB God <- - -
Posts: 6074
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:36 pm
Location: lancaster

Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:19 am

no it has to have a metal area underneath it

*King* *King* *King* *King*
if it anit broke dont fix it
Post Reply